Inauguration of the First International Conference on Information and Knowledge Management in Bangladesh

Shaharima Parvin, Assistant Librarian

East West University
27 April 2019

The Inaugural Ceremony of the 1st International Conference on Information and Knowledge Management (i-IKM 2019) was held at BPATC, Savar, Dhaka on 25 April 2019. The Conference is being jointly organized by the Bangladesh Public Administration Training Centre (BPATC) and the Department of the Information Studies and Library Management, East West University. Around 30 Invited Speakers from all around the world, 170 paper presenters and around 350 participants joined the Conference. This Conference is the first initiative taken in Bangladesh of its kind focusing on one of the burning issues of 21st Century, Agenda 2030.

» Read more

TLT Panel Discussion: Bridging the Divide: Ascertaining the Place of Bangladeshi LIS Researchers and Practitioners in Global

After the Award function, there was a panel discussion with eminent library professionals, and academics comprised Kazi Mostak Gausul Hoq, PhD, Chairman, Department of Information Science and Library Management, University of Dhaka; Md. Anwarul Islam, PhD Librarian, Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University and Secretary-General of Library Association of Bangladesh (LAB); Professor Dr Md. Nasiruddin Mitul, Dean, School of Undergraduate Studies, National University, Bangladesh; Dr Dilara Begum, Chairperson & Associate Professor, Department of Information Studies and Library Management, & Librarian (In-charge), East West University; Professor Dr Md. Nasiruddin Munshi, Department of Information Science and Library Management, University of Dhaka and Dr Md. Nazim Uddin Senior Manager and Head, icddr,b Library and Sasanka Kumar Singha, Joint Director, Bangladesh Bank.

Dr Md Anwarul Islam, Associate Professor, Department of Information Science and Library Management, University of Dhaka moderated the programme.

The discussion was framed by a series of questions put to the panellists.

» Read more

Prof Abdullah Abu Sayeed honoured TLT Lifetime Award 2019!

ফুলের অনেক বৈচিত্র বা রঙের জৌলুশ আছে এগুলো তার সাফল্য কিন্ত যে গন্ধ দিয়ে সে আমাদের মন ভোলায়, তা হলো তার সার্থকতা

Abdullah abu sayeed(আব্দুল্লাহ আবু সায়ীদ)


Prof Abdullah Abu Sayeed, Founding President of Bishwa Shahitya Kendro has been chosen for the TLT lifetime award for his significant contribution to the society in Bangladesh. His foundation “Biswa Sahitya Kendra” a privately organised centre for promoting reading habits among students and the general public, movement to promote enlightenment and progressive ideas among people.

» Read more

TLT Excellence Academic Librarian Award 2019 (Academic Librarian of the Year) Dil Ruksana Basunia, Chittagong University


The award selection committee has nominated Dil Ruksana Basunia for TLT Excellence Academic Librarian Award 2019 for her contribution to the Arena of Academic Library. She is currently working as Deputy Librarian in the Central Library of the University of Chittagong and fairly very young for the position among others. She has prepared a project on ‘Central Library Automation Project’ and established a cyber centre under this project in the first phase. She organizes training and workshops for the staff and students as part of professional development and enhances user engagement in the library.  

» Read more

TLT Excellence Medical Librarian Award 2019 Md. Shafiur Rahman, iccdr,b

The award selection committee has selected Md. Shafiur Rahman for excellence in his contribution to the arena of medical Library.  He is working as a Senior Library Officer at the Library and Information Services Section of the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (ICDDR,B). He emphasizes strengthening knowledge and expertise on to manage and organize the digital library, handle the specialized tasks of massive digitization, storage and access of E-resources, digital knowledge mining, digital reference services, electronic information services, digital data curation, and manage the archive and its access.

» Read more

TLT Young Excellence Innovation Award 2019 (Young librarian of the year) Md. Mubassir Ahasan, Southeast University

The award selection committee has chosen Md. Mubassir Ahasan for recognizing his accomplishment of an exceptionally high standard of expertise as a young library professional. He is working as a library in-charge at the Southeast University Library, and took initiatives to upgrade the systems and services, for example, online registration, Self-renew, Live Chat with users, and so forth. He has arranged the Library day program and awarded to the best library users both in faculty category and student category that may be encouraged the library professionals to enhance the user engagement.

  » Read more

TLT Young Student Award 2019 (Student of the Year) Md. Atikuzzaman

The Department of Information Science and Library Management of the University of Dhaka has nominated Md. Atikuzzaman for the TLT Young student award 2019. Mr Atikuzzaman has completed a Bachelor of Arts (honors) from the same department in this year by obtaining the highest CGPA (3.9 on a scale of 4.0. He has maintained outstanding result in all the semester during the program. In addition, he is an active participant in different co-curricular activities organized by the department, residential hall, and the University.

» Read more

Dr Mirza Mohd. Rezaul Islam honoured with TLT Posthumous Award!

The award marks Dr Mirza Mohd. Rezaul Islam for his indelible contribution to the library profession in Bangladesh.

Dr Reza was born on 18 August 1959 at  New Town in Netrokona district. He was the fourth son of Mirza Mohd Abdul Hannan and Ms Rahatun Nesa. His two sons; Mirza Mohd Asif Sakib and Mirza Mohd Tehzib Sadaf are studying Independent University of Bangladesh and Ahsanullha University of Engineering and Technology respectively.

He obtained  PhD in Library and Information Science from Jadavpur University, India in 1998. Prior to this, he completed a master degree in Library science from the University of Dhaka in 1984.

» Read more

1 2 3 4 20