Three Library professionals have been awarded M.Phil Degree

Ahasan, Dhaka, 23, November 2018

Three Library professionals have been awarded, M.Phil Degree. The Degree was given to the researchers from a syndicate meeting with Vice-Chancellor of Dhaka University Professor Dr. Md. Akhtaruzzaman in the chair on October 31, 2018. The degree holders are Mr. Shafiur Rahman, Senior Information Officer, International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease and Research, Bangladesh icddr,b, Ms. Syeda Mukta Begum, Librarian, International School Dhaka, and Muhammad Burhan Uddin, Assistant Director, Bangladesh Bank Library.

The Librarian Times(TLT) has tried to collect a brief professional summary of the degree holders.

Mr Md. Shafiur Rahman

Mr. Md. Shafiur Rahman

MPhil thesis title of Mr. Shafiur Rahman for is Digital Library Initiatives In Medical Libraries Of Bangladesh”. Mr. Rahman is serving as a young library professional in Bangladesh for the last twelve years. At present, he has been performing his job as Senior Information Officer in the Library and Information Services Section of the International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh (icddr,b). Mr. Shafiur completed his Bachelor and Master degree from the Department of Information Science and Library Management under the University of Rajshahi and obtained first class first and first-class second respectively. He obtained a very prestigious award “Bangladesh Prime Minister Gold Medal Award” and “University of Rajshahi Vice Chancellor Gold Medal Award” on his excellent result (First class first and Social Science Faculty First) in Bachelor level and he is the only one in our profession from the University of Rajshahi till now, who achieved this award. He also received a prominent international librarianship award i.e. “Jay Jordan IFLA/OCLC Early Career Development Fellowship Program-2012” from the USA.

Previously, he worked at North South University Library, Independent University, Bangladesh (IUB) Library, Bangladesh University of Health Sciences and Scholastica for twelve years. Mr. Shafiur conducted his research study under the supervision of Professor Dr. S.M. Mannan, Department of Information Science and Library Management, University of Dhaka. Mr. Shafiur is a Life Member of BALID and LAB.

Ms. Syeda Mukta Begum

Ms. Syeda Mukta Begum

MPhil thesis title of Ms. Syeda Mukta Begum is “The Role of Special Libraries for Building Knowledge-Based Economy in Bangladesh”. The thesis supervisor was Professor Dr. Md. Shiful Islam, Department of Information Science and Library Management (ISLM), University of Dhaka.
After completion of BA Hons and MA in ISLM from the University of Dhaka, Ms. Mukta started her professional career as a Librarian in Democracywatch, Dhaka. Later she switched her professional job to Bangladesh National Woman Lawyers’ Association and Ebenezer International School, Dhaka. She is currently working as Librarian in International School Dhaka.

She is a life member of Bangladesh Association of Librarians, Information Scientists and Documentalists(BALID) and Contributing Editor of The Librarian Times.
Ms. Mukta received several professional training at home and abroad and also participated in different recognized seminars.


Muhammad Burhan Uddin

Muhammad Burhan Uddin

M.Phil thesis title of Muhammad Burhan Uddin is “Assessing Service Quality of Healthcare Libraries in Bangladesh: A LibQUAL Study”.

The said thesis supervisor was Prof. Dr. SM Zabed Ahmed, Department of Information Science and Library Management, University of Dhaka. After successful completion of BA (Hons.) with 1st class 3rd position and MA with a 1st class 4th position from ISLM department of DU, Mr. Muhammad Burhun Uddin started his career at Daffodil International University, Dhaka and then joined at Bangladesh Institute of Capital Market under Ministry of Finance. Now, he is serving at Bangladesh Bank as an Assistant Director in the Research Department (Library).
He is a life member of BALID and has been involved in several volunteer activities.


On behalf of The Librarian Times(TLT) congratulations to all awardees!